

Scout Commissioner Adam Maitland pins the Medal of Merit on William Hay.



## 1988



Thanks badges to Margaret McWilliam & Sandy McClymont for many years of loyal service.



#### 2001



**July 2001**: Violet Service receives a card and gifts in recognition of her service and dedication to scouts in the Galloway Area.

Violet, from Twynholm, retired in 2000 but her presentation of patio planters was delayed due to the foot and mouth crisis.

She was Area Commissioner for Galloway Scouts from 1995 to 2000, although she has been involved with the scouts since 1979.

Drew Low, Area Chairman, presented her and her husband Bill, with the planters and card. Also present was Nigel Scott who has taken over her post

Galloway Area Chairman Andrew Low is presented with his 40-years long service certificate by Nigel Scott, Galloway Area Commissioner.

# 40 years service with the scouting movement

AT THE annual Galloway Area Scout Council Leaders Gathering, held this year in the function room of the Auchenlarie Holiday Park, Andrew Low The Galloway Area Chairman was presented with his 40 years long service certificate by Nigel Scott, the Galloway area Commissioner. On making the presentation, the Area Commissioner paid tribute to the work Andrew had put into Scouting over the years, and particularly in his capacity as Area Chairman.

It was one extreme two of the other for the other presentations, when Lorraine Mackley of Kirkmaiden Cubs, who meet in Drummore, was informed that she was the recipient of a temporary warrant, whilst Kirsty Grieve of Gatehouse Beavers received her full warrant. Alan Whiteside, the leader of Minnigaff Scouts received a certificate for 10 years in scouting, whilst the commissioner Nigel Scott received a bar to his 25 years long service medal. Donna Kilpatrick of Twynholm Beavers was presented with her wood-badge, which marks the end of an intensive training programme. Last, but by no means least, platinum Chief Scouts Award was presented to Ewan Connor, a Young leader and member of the Stewartry Explorers group.

Ewan, is a young leader at Kirkcudbright Scouts, and he addressed those Scouters present at the meeting, by giving a run down as to his duties as a young leader and what he personally gained from his years in scouting. The main attraction to him was his being able to pass on his experience and expertise to younger members of his group, especially with regards to basic camping,

in particular the use of sufficient pegs to secure the tent, and the manufacture of different camp gadgets from natural materials. Ewan basically summed up Scouting by saying that he, over his years in the Scouting movement, had fun. That is what Scouting is all about. His confidence and leadership skills not only are being used to help the young people of Kirkcudbright, but also will help him when he completes his CV. The Scouts are always on the look out for those suitable young people to help swell the ranks. To this end a web site www.gallowayscouts.org.uk has been formed which supplies an internet portal to the world of Scouting,

particularly in the Galloway area.

The annual leaders gathering are an opportunity for all the different sections, namely Beavers, Cubs and Scouts to get together and plan the forthcoming events.

Scouting was formed by Lord Baden Powell in 1907, and next year is the centenary celebrations of the Scouting movement. To celebrate this historical mile stone anniversary, special events are being held, including a Sunrise event to be held on 1st August 2007. Planning for this event is very much in it's infancy, but it is hoped that Galloway Scouts will form part of what will be a UK, if not international event.



OUR photograph shows from left to right, Alan Whiteside, Nigel Scott Galloway Area Commissioner, Andrew Low, Lorraine Mackley, Kirsty Grieve and Donna Kilpatrick the recipients of the awards, (missing Ewan Connor) and the Galloway Area Scout Commissioner Nigel Scott addressing the meeting.

### 2016



Drew Low, Galloway Chairman congratulates newly appointed District Commissioner Nigel Scott, and welcomes 5 new Assistant District Commissioners, as well as a Scout Active Unit Support Manager and other office bearers.

### 2018



Nigel Scott, former Gatehouse Scout Leader and Drew Low, Galloway Chairman, honour leader Mark Grieve. Nigel spoke of Mark's progression from Cubs to Scouts, finally achieving the Chief Scout's award. Drew then presented Mark with his 25-year service award.